PRESENTING THE 2008 - 2009 SELBY GALLERY EXHIBITION SEASON

Every year, Ringling College of Art and Design's Selby Gallery creates a rich and diverse series of exhibitions for its student body and the community at large.

 

Rendering of Sarasota Herald Tribune Lobby

Digital Is 

August 8 – September 13, 2008

OPENING RECEPTION
Friday, August 8 from 5 – 7 p,m,

ARTIST PRESENTATIONS:
Thurs., Aug. 28 - Dessert reception: 6 – 7 pm; gallery talk with computer scientist/artists, Martin Quinn: 7 – 7:30 pm; showing of movie King Kong at 7:30 pm

DIRECTOR’S TOUR:
Mon., Aug. 11 at 11:30 a. m.

 

 

Rose Marie Prins

Annual Faculty Exhibitions

Part I
Sept. 19 – Oct. 11, 2008
Opening reception: Friday, Sept. 19, 5-7 p.m.


Part II
Oct. 17 – Nov. 8, 2008
Opening reception: Friday, Oct. 17, 5-7 p.m.

Annual Ringling College Staff Exhibition

Sept. 19 – Oct. 11, 2008

Opening reception: Friday, Sept. 19, 5-7 p.m.

Location: Ulla Searing Student Center Exhibition Hall

 

 

Emanuel BorCescu

Traces: Contemporary Romanian Art

Nov. 14 – Dec. 16, 2008

Opening reception: Friday, Nov. 14, 5 - 7 p.m.

Artist’s reception: Thursday, Nov. 13, 2008 at 5:30 p.m. followed by a presentation by curator, Ann Albritton at 7 p.m. Featuring Gabriela Boiangiu, Emanuel Borcescu and Delia Popa.

Director’s tour with Ann Albritton: Monday, Nov. 17, 11:30 a.m.

Thomas Woodruff

Thomas Woodruff’s Freak Parade

Jan. 9 – Feb. 11, 2009

Opening reception: Friday, Jan. 9, 5-7 p.m.

Artist’s reception: to be announced

Director’s tour: Monday, Jan. 12, 11:30 a.m.

Jin Soo Kim

What’s Next?: Installations and Digital Films by Jin Soo Kim

Feb. 20 – March 21, 2009

Artist’s presentation and preview: Thursday, Feb. 19, 7 p.m.

Opening reception: Friday, Feb. 20, 5 – 7 p.m.

Director’s tour: Monday, Feb. 27, 11:30 a.m.

James DeL’Etoile

Annual Student Exhibitions

Part I
The First Year: Work in Progress

March 27–April 11, 2009

Awards ceremony and opening reception: Friday, March 27, 5–8 p.m.

Part II
The Best of Ringling: The Annual Juried Student Exhibition

April 17-May 8, 2009

Awards ceremony and opening reception: Friday, April 17, 5–8 p.m.

Susan McGee

Annual Community Exhibitions

May 15 – 29, 2009

Opening reception: Friday, May 15, 5 -7 p.m.

Nat Krate at 90: A Retrospective & Figurative/Narrative: Lynn Davison & Gale Fulton Ross

June 26 – July 31, 2009

Gallery I: Nat Krate at 90: A Retrospective
Gallery II: Figurative:Narrative with Gale Fulton Ross & Lynn Davison