Ringling College Student Animations Win GOLD and BRONZE Medals in 2013 Student Academy Awards®

    Pin it!

    Ringling College Student Animations Take Home the GOLD and BRONZE Medals in 2013 Student Academy Awards®

    June 9, 2013 - Ringling College animators make history, capturing two of three Student Academy Awards worldwide in the 2013 Student Academy Awards®.  Sixteen students from colleges and universities around the world were honored as winners on June 8th at the 40th Student Academy Awards ceremony at the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. The medal placements were announced at the ceremony hosted by writer-director and 1978 Student Academy Award® winner Bob Saget. Writer-director Kimberly Peirce and actors Clark Gregg, Jason Schwartzman and Quvenzhané Wallis presented the awards. 

    This year, Ringling College of Art and Design senior thesis animations won both the GOLD and BRONZE medal placements, adding the 10th and 11th wins for the College. Congratulations to all of the filmmakers and their outstanding faculty led by Jim McCampbell, CA Department head!

    Gold Medal:  Dia de los Muertos 
    Lindsey St. Pierre, Ashley Graham, and Kate Reynolds

    Watch Lindsey, Ashley and Kate's acceptance speech
    See Lindsey's winner profile and a clip of the film

    See Ashley's winner profile and a clip of the film

    Please note: The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences allows only two filmmakers to officially be credited with the Student Academy Award. Graduate Kate Reynolds is the third filmmaker in this project and was unable to be featured on the Academy website as part of the team, due to these restrictions. She is equally responsible for this outstanding win!

    Bronze Medal: Peck Pocketed
    Kevin Herron

    The Student Academy Awards were established in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 46 Oscar® nominations and have won or shared eight awards. The roster includes such distinguished filmmakers as John Lasseter, Pete Docter, Robert Zemeckis, Trey Parker and Spike Lee.