Society of Illustrators Awards 34 Student Entries for Coveted 2014 Exhibition

    Pin it!

    February 21, 2014 - Ringling College of Art and Design remains the top performing college in history in the Society of Illustrators’ (Society) Annual Student Scholarship Competition! This year, 28 Ringling students were accepted into the exhibition with a total of 34 winning entries. Just 300+ total winning pieces were chosen from more than 8,700 entries submitted by colleges and universities throughout the U.S. and Canada. A jury of professional peers including illustrators and art directors selected the most outstanding works created throughout the year.  Pieces are accepted based on the quality of technique, concept and skill of medium used. 

    Since 2008, Ringling College has had a total of 196 winning pieces accepted into the competition – more than any other college! 

    The Society as well as various other generous private and corporate donors grant scholarships to the best students featured in the competition. Beginning May 7 through May 31, the Museum, in New York City, will display the student's work as well as a full color catalog.  Awards and certificates are given to the students during the Opening Reception on May 9, 2014.

    Ringling College Illustration Department Head, Jeff Schwartz, credits the school’s strong foundation in observational drawing and painting as fundamental for the student’s mastery of skill and personal artistic growth. “Our illustration classes, taught by leading award-winning illustrators of varying disciplines, push our students to build a body of work that demonstrates a broad but deep skill set,” said Schwartz. “We are extremely proud of our students and our faculty for this incredible achievement!” 

    Congratulations to the 2014 Ringling College Society of Illustrators Student Scholarship Competition Winners:

    Natalie Andrewson

    Audrey Benjaminsen

    Shelby Boswell

    Pai Hsin Cherng

    Karissa Costa

    Shelby Cragg

    Daniel Cruit

    Morgan Davidson

    Deshi Deng

    Matthew Filipkowski

    Benjamin Girdwood

    Danielle Gross

    Huy Ho

    Cameron Kramer

    Livy Long

    Victor Maury

    Shannon McClernan

    Danielle Otrakji

    Anne Passchier

    Tim Peacock

    Patu Phan

    Taylor Pohlman

    Jonathan Randazzo

    Annee Schwank

    Magdalena Szymaniec

    Chase Taylor

    Brenna Thummler

    Georden Whitman


    Discover how Ringling stacks up to other colleges in the 2014 competition

    Check out Ringling’s winners by year 2008-2014

     About Society of Illustrators
    According to the Society, the Student Scholarship Competition is the most competitive and prestigious of juried shows. Since its inception in 1981, the Society has awarded more than $1.5 million to deserving students. Selected by a celebrated jury, this exhibit features the most mature, sophisticated and well-crafted illustration of the year from art schools around the country. 

    To learn more about the competition visit