Computer Animation Students Finalists in Student Academy Awards!

Computer Animation Students Finalists in Student Academy Awards!

Congratulations to the Computer Animation department and to our amazing students who were named finalists in the 2018 Student Academy Awards! Fingers crossed for the award ceremony on October 11.

According to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, “The Academy established the Student Academy Awards in 1972 to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 46 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards. They include Pete Docter, Robert Zemeckis, Trey Parker and Spike Lee.” Looks like our students are in good company!

In the Animation category, four Ringling student projects were named finalists:

Victoria Lopez and Ji young Na, “Attack of the Potato Clock” 
Sagar Arun and Rachel Kral, “Rebooted” 
Hannah Park, “Reflection” 
Eaza Shukla, “Re-Gifted” 

Watch the pieces and see an entire list of Student Academy Award finalists here.

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest Ringling College news in your inbox.